Exciting things!

This month has been chalk full of business.  It has been an amazing month that allowed me many different opportunites. Because so much has happened, I’ll be breaking them up into different posts!

On May 1st, I had the most amazing opportunity at my high school. I’m currently taking a two-credit course by the name of Ideology, a fabulous English and writer’s craft class taught by my very favourite teacher. In class, we had been preparing for the L3 Writer’s Conference my teacher puts on each year. The evening is completely run by students and this is the seventh year it has run! Each year we invite a bunch of authors to come to the school and present as well as do workshops with the students and teachers.

Being an Ideology student this year, I was over-the-moon-psyched to partake in the conference.

On a complete and total whim, I volunteered to be a hostess for one of the authors, Christine Miscione. After reading her brilliant short story collection, Auxiliary Skins, I knew that she was the author for me. However being the shy person I am, it took me a while to finally email her and make arrangements. I was nervous I would say something wrong, or that I wouldn’t sound grown up enough or something silly like that. As it turned out, there was absolutely nothing to be worried or nervous about. Christine is the absolute sweetest woman I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and fell nothing short of what I thought she would be like.

We hit it off immediately, and I connected with her instantly. When the big day of the conference rolled around the corner I was practically bouncing with excitement; I can’t think of any event I’ve anticipated more, or any person I’ve been so excited to meet. When she arrived at my school that morning I was so nervous (again) at first, I felt like I was going to pee my pants.

My nerves subsided almost instantly.

One of the first things Christine said to me was, “Do you want to talk about your poems?” I won’t get into all of the personal details, but this made me so unbelievably happy because she genuinely cared about my writing and my feelings in my writing. The conversation we had was one I will never forget and the advice she has given me is the type that I will hold onto.

We spent the entire day together, from sitting together during the keynote presentations and having lunch together where we talked about honestly everything imaginable; things I talk about with my closest girlfriend. I’ve never felt so understood by someone, so this was definitely my favourite part of the day.

Getting to know Christine has been a lovely slice of heaven. I feel like we have connected on so many different levels and we have a lot in common – even the same ice cream flavour! This talented young woman is my role model; she is exactly the type of person I want to be in the future and I feel as though I have made a life-long friend with her.

In the next week or so I will have pictures from the conference, but for now here’s one of Christine and I!

20140501_155530431_iOS

Leave a Reply

